Alberto & Frost Winners of Transvulcania Ultra 2014

12 May 2014 08:30
Jean-Loup Fenaux
News Results
Anna Frost Winner of the 2014 Ultra
Credit :

The elite field at the start of the race was extremely stacked but Luis Alberto Hernando (Spain) managed to take the win at the Ultramaratón 2014 in 6:55:41 in front of Kilian Jornet (7:01:34). Kilian, the winner of the previous edition was running in La Palma his first running race of the year after his ski season. Sage Canaday (USA) took third place in 7:11:39.

The ladies race saw Emelie Forsberg the winner of the previous edition compete with Anna Frost who had won the 2012 race. But early on in the race, Emelie made a bad fall and had to drop out. So in the hot mountains of La Palma, Anna Forst finally was the first woman to reach the finish line after 8:10:41, establishing a new course record. She finished in front of two Spanish runners Maite Mayora (8:20:29) and Uxue Fraile (8:48:01).

1,459 runners finished the ultra race this year.

Ultra Marathon results

Top Men

Luis Alberto Hernando ESP 6:55:41
Kilian Jornet ESP 7:01:34
Sage Canaday USA 7:11:39
Tofol Castanyer ESP 7:23:56
Stephan Hugenschmidt GER 7:27:10
Tom Owens GBR 7:31:15
Mauel Merillas ESP 7:34:55
Timothy Olson USA 7:35:22
Pablo Villa ESP 7:36:12
Dakota Jones USA 7:42:35

Top Ladies

Anna Frost NZL 8:10:41
Maite Mayora ESP 8:20:29
Uxue Fraile ESP 8:48:01
Emma Roca ESP 8:58:45
Anne Lise Rousset FRA 9:10:29
Jodee Adams-Moore USA 9:19:14
Andrea Huser SUI 9:28:25
Krissy Moehl USA 9:29:00
Frederica Boifava ITA 9:41:32
Alessandra Carlini ITA 9:47:25

Complete results for the Transvulcania Ultra 2014