Geoffrey Mutai and Mary Keitany Crowned 2011-2012 World Marathon Majors Series Champions

06 Nov 2012 04:41
Jean-Loup Fenaux
Press Release

Monday’s WMM Championship Presentation and Photo Call Cancelled

The World Marathon Majors® (WMM) today announced that Kenyans Geoffrey Mutai and Mary Keitany are the champions of the 2011-2012 World Marathon Majors Series. With the cancellation of the 2012 ING New York City Marathon, the 2011-2012 Series has concluded and there will be no additional points awarded. Mutai had already secured the Series title in advance of the New York race with 75 points tallied in winning the 2011 Boston Marathon, the 2011 ING New York City Marathon, and the 2012 BMW Berlin Marathon. Keitany secured the title with 65 points accumulated with victories at the 2011 and 2012 Virgin London Marathons, and a third place finish at the 2011 ING New York City Marathon. These athletes will split the $1 million prize purse.

Visit to view the full leader board.

Out of respect for the situation in New York City, World Marathon Majors will not hold its champions presentation and photo call on Monday, November 5.

About World Marathon Majors (WMM)

Established in 2006, the World Marathon Majors is a race series comprised of the Tokyo, Boston, Virgin London, BMW Berlin, Bank of America Chicago, and ING New York City marathons. In the years in which they are run, WMM also includes the IAAF World Championship and Olympic marathons. At the conclusion of a two-year cycle, WMM offers a $1 million prize purse to be split equally between the top male and female marathoners in the world. The inaugural 2006 – 2007 series launched at the Boston Marathon on April 17, 2006 and concluded on November 4, 2007 at the ING New York City Marathon. The 2013 – 2014 series begins with the Tokyo Marathon on February 24, 2013 and will conclude on November 2, 2014 at the ING New York City Marathon.