Ghirmay Ghebreslassie, Mary Keitany, Marcel Hug, and Tatyana McFadden Claim Titles at 2016 TCS New York City Marathon

07 Nov 2016 10:03
Jean-Loup Fenaux
Press Release
Ghirmay Gebreslassie (ERI) becomes the youngest TCS New York City Marathon champion on Sunday, November 6, 2016. (Official time - 2:07:51)
Credit : Courtesy of NYRR

November 6, 2016—The 2016 TCS New York City Marathon crowned four champions on Sunday, November 6, with Kenya’s Mary Keitany winning her third title in the professional women’s race, USA’s Tatyana McFadden winning her fifth title in the professional wheelchair women’s race, and Eritrea’s Ghirmay Ghebreslassie and Switzerland’s Marcel Hug taking the titles on the men’s side in the professional men’s and wheelchair races, respectively.

Ghebreslassie, 20, won his first TCS New York City Marathon title in a time of 2:07:51, breaking away on his own when the lead runners entered Manhattan at Mile 16 to claim his second Abbott World Marathon Majors race title in two years. He is the youngest male runner to have ever won the New York City Marathon. Kenya’s Lucas Rotich took second in 2:08:53, with the USA’s Abdi Abdirahman placing third in 2:11:23.

Keitany, 34, became the first able-bodied runner to win three consecutive New York City Marathons since Grete Waitz won five straight from 1982-1986, as she ran the five-borough course in dominating fashion, clocking in at 2:24:26. She has now placed in the top three in all four New York City Marathons she has competed in. Her compatriot, Sally Kipyego, finished second in 2:28:01 on Sunday, and NYRR Team for Kids Ambassador, American Molly Huddle, finished third in 2:28:13 in her marathon debut.

Hug, 30, defeated Australia’s Kurt Fearnley in yet another photo-finish this year, taking the final sprint to win his second New York City Marathon title in 1:35:49. Fearnley clocked the same time, just sixth hundredths of a second behind, while the USA’s Josh George came third in 1:39:01.

McFadden, 27, won her fourth consecutive and fifth overall New York City Marathon title, taking the lead for good at the 15-mile mark to finish in 1:47:43. The NYRR Team for Kids Ambassador and 17-time Paralympic medalist has now won four Abbott World Marathon Majors races this year, having already won in Boston, London, and Chicago. Switzerland’s Manuela Schar took second in 1:49:28 and the USA’s Amanda McGrory was third in 1:53:15.