Makau Motivated for Frankfurt After Watching Berlin

03 Oct 2012 06:10
Jean-Loup Fenaux
Press Release

Organisers of the BMW Frankfurt Marathon have released the field of the elite runners today. World record holder Patrick Makau (Kenya) is the stand out competitor while in the women’s event defending champion Mamitu Daska (Ethiopia) returns. Germany’s next major international marathon will be started on 28th October. A capacity field of around 15,000 runners is expected at the BMW Frankfurt Marathon, which is an IAAF Gold Label road race. Adding other running events a total of 25,000 athletes will compete.

Regarding the very top of the men’s field, this is the best ever in the history of the race. Five runners with personal bests of sub 2:05:45 will be competing in Frankfurt. Patrick Makau is looking forward to the challenge. After not being selected for the London Olympic Games the 27 year-old intends to make a statement with a very good performance. He will be looking for a very good result on the fast Frankfurt course, where Wilson Kipsang (Kenya) had established a 2:03:42 course record in 2011. This is just four seconds slower than Patrick Makau’s world record of 2:03:38, which he ran in Berlin. On Sunday Makau watched the Berlin Marathon, where fellow Kenyan Geoffrey Mutai attacked his world record but had to be content with a world leading time of 2:04:15.

“I followed the marathon on TV – but I can not comment on the race. I can only speak for myself: My training went well. And having seen the Berlin race this has motivated me for Frankfurt,” said Patrick Makau on the phone when talking to Frankfurt’s elite race coordinator Christoph Kopp. The world record holder will be eager to establish himself as the world’s fastest marathon runner of the year, a position he had had in the past two years. Targeting the 2:04:15 run by Geoffrey Mutai last Sunday in Berlin it may well turn out to become a world record chase if conditions are suitable. So far there are only five runners in history who have broken the men’s world marathon record more than once.


Patrick Makau KEN 2:03:38 (WR)
Yemane Tsegay ETH 2:04:48
Albert Matebor KEN 2:05:25
Bazu Worku ETH 2:05:25
Deressa Chimsa ETH 2:05:42
Gilbert Kirwa KEN 2:06:14
Wilfred Kigen KEN 2:07:33
Abraham Kiprotich FRA 2:08:35
Daniel Limo KEN 2:08:59
Peter Some KEN 2:10:16
Peter Wanjiru KEN 2:12:11
Mustafa Mohamed SWE 2:12:28
Sören Kah GER 2:14:25
Henrik Them DEN 2:17:47
Victor Kipchirchir KEN Debut
Derek Hawkins GBR Debut
Tewelde Estifanos ERI Debut


Bezunesh Bekele ETH 2:20:30
Mamitu Daska ETH 2:21:59
Georgina Rono KEN 2:24:33
Agnes Barsosio KEN 2:25:49
Patricia Morceli SUI 2:37:28
Tone Ilstad Hjalmarsen NOR Debut