Victory goes to Afewerk Mesfin and Peninah Arusei at La Rochelle Marathon

02 Dec 2014 10:55
Jean-Loup Fenaux
News Results
La Rochelle Harbour entrance
Credit : Andy Roberts

This weekend, 5,740 runners gathered in the streets of La Rochelle (France) to take part in the 24th edition of the marathon.

Ethiopian Afewerk Mesfin was the first to cross the finish line with a time of 02:12:16. He finishes in front of two Kenyan runners John Komen (02:14:28) and Daniel Komen (02:14:51).

In the women’s race, the victory went to Peninah Arusei from Kenya in 02:33:10. Ethiopia’s Fasika Metaferya (02:33:10) finishes second and Ukraine’s Vita Poteryuk (02:39:33) is third.

4,816 runners finished the solo race, making La Rochelle the 4th largest marathon in France, in term of finishers.

Next year, the event will be held on November 29th.

Top 5 Men

1 MESFIN Afewerk ETH 02:12:16
2 KOMEN John KEN 02:14:28
3 KOMEN Daniel KEN 02:14:51
4 LANGAT Robert KEN 02:15:32
5 GRIGORIEV Oleg RUS 02:17:39

Top 5 Women

1 ARUSEI Peninah KEN 02:33:10
2 METAFERYA Fasika ETH 02:39:31
3 POTERYUK Vita UKR 02:39:33
4 DEBELU Shewaye ETH 02:41:09
5 CIRLAN Daniela ROU 02:56:21

Complete results